Board of Directors 2024-2025


Glynnis Hood
Glynnis Hood, PhD, CWB®
Glynnis Hood has been a member of The Wildlife Society (TWS) and the Alberta Chapter (ACTWS) since the early 2000s, and a member of the Canadian Section (CSTWS) since it began in 2016. She has served on the ACTWS Professional Awards Committee from 2012 to late 2021 (Chair from 2016 to 2021), various ACTWS conference committees, the TWS Jim McDonough Award Committee (2018 – 2021), and has been a Certified Wildlife Biologist since 2016. Professionally, Glynnis is an ecologist and Professor of Environmental Science at the University of Alberta’s Augustana Campus in Camrose.


Kara MacAulay, MSc, RPBio

Kara MacAulay is a Wildlife Biologist with the Ministry of Water, Land and Resource Stewardship in Prince George, BC. She received a B.Sc. in Biological Sciences from the University of Lethbridge, and an M.Sc. in Ecology from the University of Alberta. Kara has diverse experience in wildlife monitoring, research, and management from BC and Alberta on a variety of species including elk, grizzly bears, mountain goats, martens, and fishers. This is Kara's fourth year on the Board, previously serving as Secretary from 2020-2022, Vice-President from 2022-2023, and President from 2023-2024. 



Alex Beatty, MSc

Alex Beatty holds a BSc degree, with a specialization in Animal Biology and a MSc degree in Ecology both from the University of Alberta. Alex’s graduate work focused on polar bear ecology in western Hudson Bay where she fell in love with the Arctic. She has since moved to the Yukon and is currently the Liard Regional Fish and Wildlife Biologist for the Yukon Government. Alex served for a number of years on the board of the Alberta Chapter (ACTWS) as Secretary-Treasurer and President. In addition, she has been involved with The Wildlife Society (TWS) in other capacities. Alex currently serves on TWS Jim McDonough Award Committee, has served on TWS Annual Conference Networks and Engagement Committee, acted as chair of the Student Development Working Group International Committee and participated as an executive member for the University of Alberta Chapter of The Wildlife Society for several years. Most recently, Alex participated in the TWS Leadership Institute Class of 2023. With no local TWS Chapter in the Yukon, Alex looks forward to getting more involved with the Canadian Section!




Pete Hettinga

Peter Hettinga, MNRM

Peter resides in Northwestern Ontario, is a former president of the Ontario Chapter of The Wildlife Society and is employed as a Management Biologist with the Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources and Forestry. Peter was previously a Wildlife Biologist in Manitoba and prepared environmental assessments and conducted field studies on wildlife species impacted by resource development projects and graduated in 2010 with a Master of Natural Resources Management degree from the University of Manitoba. Based on his thesis research on the use of sampled genetic information to estimate population size and rate of population change in woodland caribou populations, Peter published an article in the Journal of Wildlife Management (favourite journal) and has had the opportunity to present and network at conferences throughout Canada



Jonathan Wiens, CWB®

Jonathan Wiens is an Environmental Specialist with Manitoba Hydro. Much of his work focuses on planning, mitigating, and monitoring wildlife issues on new transmission lines across Manitoba. Currently, Jonathan is coordinating monitoring effects on moose, deer, grouse leks, rare plants and bird strikes. Jonathan graduated from University of Manitoba with a M.Sc. degree in 2008 where his graduate research focused on the ecology of garter snakes in northern Manitoba. Over the past fifteen years, Jonathan has worked on many different wildlife projects in both the public and private sectors. He is a Certified Wildlife Biologist and a past president of the Manitoba Chapter. He lives in the Winnipeg area with his wife and two boys.




Member at Large
Don Barnes

Don Barnes is retired from the Faculty of Natural Resources Management.  During his 40 years at Lakehead University, he helped to establish their first Fish and Wildlife Management stream. His interest has largely focused on furbearer research and management and is currently an active trapper.  A TWS Fellow, recipient of the Jim McDonough Award and member of TWS since 1974, Don has been a member of the CSTWS and OCTWS since their inception.  In 2006, he helped to establish a Lakehead University Student Chapter and continues to be their TWS liaison.  Further, he has been actively involved in TWS (Certification Liaison and Conservation Education Awards Committees), CSTWS (Vice-President, Chairs of Certification & Curriculum Review Committees, and Education Committee member), and the OCTWS (past president, Membership Committee Chair, and Director). 








Member at Large 
Bill Harrower, PhD

Bill Harrower is currently a Senior Biologist with the BC Ministry of Water Land and Resource Stewardship. He joined the provincial government after owning and operating High-Country Wildlife, a small research consulting firm, for over 20 years. His interests are broad but generally focus on trophic ecology, food webs, and the various aspects of species-at-risk conservation and management, including the restoration of trophic structure. Trained as an experimental field biologist, he contributed to several large-scale experiments on species ranging from goshawk and bison to salmon, grassland birds and small mammals. He has been involved in wolverine research and management since the late 1990s and participated in many research and conservation projects throughout western North America. In his role with the BC Public Service, Bill continues the process of doing science to both learn about the world and use science as a tool to help mitigate conflict in resource management. Bill has been a leading member of the BC Chapter of TWS since its revitalization in 2018, holding the position of Communications Chair, President, and Treasurer. He is currently an Associate Editor of the Journal of Wildlife Management. 








Evie merrill BoD

Canadian Representative to TWS Council
Evelyn Merrill, PhD, CWB®

Evie currently is on the Faculty in the Department of Biological Sciences at the University of Alberta. She received her M.Sc. at the University of Idaho and her Ph.D. at the University of Washington. Her current area of research addresses mechanisms of animal behaviour in predator-prey relationships and disease spread in heterogeneous environments. She is a Fellow of The Wildlife Society and was Editor-In-Chief of the Journal of Wildlife Management. She received William Rowan Distinguished Service Awards from the Alberta Chapter, the Dedicated Service Award from The Wildlife Society, and the Wildlife Researcher Award from the Rocky Mountain Elk Foundation. Her hobbies include travelling, gardening, horseback riding and entertaining her grandkids.


Executive Director 


To receive contact information for any of the current Board members, please email :


Past Executive and Officers (2007 to Current)