Certification Committee Members


Don Barnes New

Certification Committee Chair

Don Barnes CWB® | TWS Fellow

In 2013, Don retired from Lakehead University after 40 years of service, where he worked to develop their first fish and wildlife management program within the Faculty of Natural Resources Management.  He has been a professional trapper and avid hunter for over 50 years and is a member of TWS Hunting, Trapping, and Conservation Working Group, Director with the Northwestern Ontario Fur Trappers Association, and a member of the Ontario Fur Managers Federation and the Northern Ontario Sportsman Alliance. As a member of a Local Citizens Committee, he has been on the planning team for several 10-year MNRF Forest Management Plans. His unique background has allowed him to interact with students, trappers, First Nations, forest companies, and the Ministry of Natural Resources and Forestry (MNRF).  

Since 1974, Don’s interest has always centred on student involvement culminating in the establishment of TWS Student Chapter at Lakehead University in 2006.  In addition, he has been affiliated with the OCTWS and the CSTWS since their inception and has maintained professional status by becoming a Certified Wildlife Biologist (CWB®).  From 2017 to present, he has been Chair of the CSTWS Certification Committee and has served as a member on TWS Certification Liaison Committee (2017-2019).  In 2021, he was awarded the designation of TWS Fellow.  Don was, also, President of OCTWS (2021-2022) and is presently Chair of OCTWS Membership and Recruitment Committee, OCTWS representative on the CSTWS Membership Committee, member of CSTWS Education Committee, and member of TWS Conservation Education Awards Committee.  


Secretary - Miriam Boucher MSc / AWB® / PBIOL / RPBio


TWS/ CRB Canadian Section Representative - Al Arsenault CWB® / PBIOL


CSTWS Executive Board Representative - Vacant 


Member-at-Large (CWB® Advisor) - Dan Chranowski MSc / CWB® / PBIOL


Liaison Officer (AFS) - Vacant


Liaison Officer (ESA) - Vacant


Liaison Officer (ASPB) - Dave Ealey PBIOL


Liaison Officer (BC-CAB) - Everett Hanna Ph.D. CWB® / RPBio


Liaison Officer (ECO Canada) - Stephanie Walsh EP®


Liaison Officer (Education) - Don Barnes MSc / CWB® / TWS Fellow


Liaison Officer (Student Affairs) - Ashlyn Herron, BSc Student


BC Chapter Representative - Rod Davis PhD / PAg


AB Chapter Representative - Jessica Melsted BSc / AWB® / BIT 


SK Chapter Representative - Vacant


MB Chapter Representative - Vacant


ON Chapter Representative - Don Barnes MSc / CWB® / TWS Fellow


NL Chapter Representative Vacant